













February 15, 2017

Fernando Ferrer Acting Chairman Metropolitan Transportation Authority 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

James Patchett
President and CEO
New York City Economic Development Corporation
110 William Street
New York, NY 10038

## Dear Chairman Ferrer and President Patchett:

On behalf of all New York City residents, we respectfully request an integrated Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) fare system and no-fee transfer, starting within the first year of ferry service, to MTA buses and subways for all ferry passengers on the New York City Economic Development Corporation's (EDC) Ferry to be operated by Hornblower Cruises, serving Manhattan, the Bronx, Queens, and Brooklyn.

According to the EDC, ferry service will include year-round seven-day per week service, matching the \$2.75 subway fare and reduced fare. A matched MTA regular and reduced fare needs to be accompanied by a customary no-fee transfer.

An integrated fare system is vital for all, including seniors and the disabled utilizing the Reduced-Fare program, which would allow them to maneuver seamlessly through the city's transit network, at no additional cost. Furthermore, a no-fee transfer will keep the daily commute affordable and alleviate severe overcrowding.

Roosevelt Island exemplifies the critical need behind our request. Roosevelt Island is served by the Q102 bus, F train and Roosevelt Island Operating Corporation (RIOC)-operated tram service, seamlessly integrated with the MTA fare system and no-fee transfers. With EDC's projected 4.6 million trips per year, the ferry will relieve the crowded neighboring transit options and forge critical connections for the city's waterfront communities. Additionally, the Cornell Tech campus, currently under construction on Roosevelt Island with an anticipated open date of July 2017, is projected to increase the island's population by 50% or 7,000 people by 2043. Ferry landings will be a welcoming beacon for residents and visitors alike as our communities across the city continue to flourish.

We, the undersigned, respectfully request an integrated Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) fare system, including a no-fee transfer to MTA buses and subways for all ferry passengers on the New York City Economic Development Corporation's (EDC) ferry within the first year of service. A no-fee transfer for all passengers would best reflect the Mayor's goal of "providing affordable and convenient transit for communities with limited transportation options; supporting growing neighborhoods; and increasing the resiliency and redundancy of our city's transportation network." Please continue to build on the progress that we have made for the improvement of New York City transportation. Thank you for your time and consideration. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

REBECCA SEAWRIGHT

Assembly Member, 76<sup>th</sup> District

Carolyn B. Malon

CAROLYN B. MALONEY

Congresswoman, 12<sup>th</sup> District

SCOTT M. STRINGER

New York City Comptroller

GALE A. BREWER Manhattan Borough President

ERIC L. ADAMS

Brooklyn Borough President

MELINDA KATZ

Queens Borough President

RUBEN DIAZ JR.

Bronx Borough President

LIZ KRUEGER

State Senator, 28<sup>th</sup> District

JOSÉ M. SERRANO

State Senator, 29<sup>th</sup> District

MARTIN J. GOLDEN State Senator, 22<sup>nd</sup> District

Brad Haylman

BRAD HOYLMAN State Senator, 27<sup>th</sup> District

MICHAEL GIANARIS State Senator, 12<sup>th</sup> District

JOSEPH P. ADDABBO JR. State Senator, 15<sup>th</sup> District

DIANE J. SAVINO State Senator, 23<sup>rd</sup> District

JOSEPH R. LENTOL Assembly Member, 50<sup>th</sup> District

DAN QUART

Assembly Member, 73<sup>rd</sup> District

ARAVELLA SIMOTAS Assembly Member, 36<sup>th</sup> District Stacey Broker amato

STACEY PHEFFER AMATO Assembly Member, 23<sup>rd</sup> District

1/2 the

BRIAN KAVANAGH Assembly Member, 74<sup>th</sup> District

MICHELE R. TITUS Assembly Member, 31<sup>st</sup> District

YUH-LINE NIOU Assembly Member, 65<sup>th</sup> District

JAMES G. VAN BRAMER Council Majority Leader, 26<sup>th</sup> District

BEN KALLOS Council Member, 5<sup>th</sup> District DAN GARODNICK

DAN GARODNICK Council Member, 4<sup>th</sup> District

STEPHEN LEVIN

Council Member, 33<sup>rd</sup> District

MARGARET CHIN

Council Member, 1<sup>st</sup> District

ANNABEL PALMA

Council Member, 18th District

ERIC ULRICH

Council Member, 32<sup>nd</sup> District

crie d. While

CARLOS MENCHACA

Council Member, 38th District

VINCENT J. GENTILE

Council Member, 43<sup>rd</sup> District

**ROSIE MENDEZ** 

Council Member, 2<sup>nd</sup> District

DONOVAN RICHARDS Council Member, 31<sup>st</sup> District

Cc: Mayor Bill de Blasio